Area 78

Alberta / Northwest Territories

E Services Committee Guidelines


The E-Services Committee looks after and manages all aspects of the Area 78 website and the email system used for communication purposes. The committee oversees conformity with the website guidelines and updates them when required.

It is intended that in Area 78, this committee will handle anything related to computing technology, such as networking, hardware, software, the Internet, or the people that work with these technologies. This is a full standing committee, reporting to the Area 78 Assembly.


The E Services Committee is responsible for the following tasks:

  1. creation and management of a website for Area 78;
  2. the management of the Area 78 e-mail system;
  3. the creation and management of any electronic newsletters produced for Area 78;
  4. updating guidelines of the E Services Committee and the Area 78 Website as needed; and
  5. managing the inventory of all computer and electronic assets of Area78.

The E Services committee focuses on creating a greater awareness and utilization of the information available in the Area 78 website. This is done through presentations and sharing at area events, and by keeping the membership informed of the content and value of the website via the E Services Report presented by the chair at assemblies and included in the Assembly minutes.

A quorum from an E-Services Website subcommittee is responsible for the day-to-day operation of the website, thus ensuring more than one individual is involved in website decision making.

Committee Composition

The E-Services Committee consists of the E Services Chair, two Web Administrators, an Email Administrator, and current DCMs and GSRs assigned to the committee by the Registrar for their two year term of service.

Others selected for the committee may include past Area officers or long-time members recommended for their knowledge in an Information Technology or related discipline, and affirmed through the Area 78 Committee.

Area 78 visitors may participate on this committee. They may not vote.

The E-Services Website Subcommittee consists of the E Services Chair and the Web Administrators.